City of Abilene News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

News Releases from Your City Government

Nominations are Open to Choose Librarian of the Year

Post Date:05/17/2017 8:35 AM

Librarian of the YearThe Friends of the Abilene Public Library is accepting nominations for the 2017 Ricki Brown Librarian of the Year.  In its fourth year, this award has previously been won by Teresa Ellis (Hardin-Simmons University), Kristy Compton (Abilene Independent School District), and Alyssa Crow (Abilene Public Library, South Branch).

Now is the time to submit your nominations for the 2017 recipient, recognizing him/her for their outstanding leadership and accomplishments in library science.  Nominations will be accepted through June 15, 2017, and a winner will be selected by a review committee from the Friends of the Library.  The winner will be announced at the West Texas Book Festival's Boots & Books Luncheon in September.

Nominators will be required to answer a series of questions relating to the nominee covering a range of topics such as how the individual encourages reading, demonstrates the value of libraries, enhances library service, promotes a positive climate in the library, and more.

We hope to receive some great entries so don't miss your opportunity to nominate a local librarian you believe is doing an incredible job in our community, be it at a public, school, or university library.

This award was created in honor of Ricki V. Brown, former City Librarian for the Abilene Public Library, who passed away in December 2013.

Return to full list >>