Health-BirthCert

Vital Statistics

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Birth Certificates

Our Vital Statistics office files all birth records for those occurring within the city limits of Abilene with some exceptions. Certified copies of these records may be obtained in person or by mail from the Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District. Only qualified applicants will be allowed to purchase a birth certificate.

The cost for a Birth Certificate is $23.00 each, per name, per request. Forms submitted without payment in full will not be processed.

The certificate(s) will be mailed back to you the next business day after the request has been received. 

The following persons may apply:

  • Individual requesting his/her own birth certificate
  • Parent or guardian of the individual named on the certificate.  Proof of guardianship must be submitted.
  • A legal representative of the individual named on the certificate, parent, or guardian (The representative must have a letter signed by the person, parent, or guardian, and certified by a notary public stating that the representative has permission to obtain the birth certificate.)
  • Court of law
  1. Print, fill out and deliver a Birth Certificate Request Form or come to the Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, 850 N. 6th Street, Abilene, Texas and complete a form.
  2. Payment in the form of cash, check or money order made payable to the Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District.

Death Certificates

Death Certificates are filed for all those occurring within the city limits of Abilene and JP Precinct One. Certified copies of these records may be obtained in person or by mail by qualified applicants only.

The cost for a Death Certificate is $21.00 for one copy and $4.00 for each additional copy, per name, per request. Forms submitted without payment in full will not be processed.

The certificate(s) will be mailed back to you the next business day after the request has been received. 

The following persons may apply:

  • Immediate family (Spouse, parent, grandparents, sister, brother, child)
  • Authorized representative of a surviving relative of the deceased (Estate's executor or attorney)
  • Funeral director who was in charge of the final disposition of the body of the deceased
  • An individual who has a proven legal need
  • Court of law
  1. Print, fill out and deliver a Death Certificate Request Form or come to the Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District 850 N. 6th Street, Abilene, Texas and complete a form.
  2. Payment in the form of cash, check or money order made payable to the Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District.

Other services include:

  • Birth and death certificate corrections/amendments for births and deaths occurring within Taylor County (exceptions may apply).
  • Computer retrieval of certified birth certificate abstracts for anyone born in the state of Texas. The same costs apply.