Boards and Commissions

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Citizens with a sincere desire to become involved in the Abilene community have the opportunity to serve on one of the boards of the City of Abilene. Each board member receives training and orientation to better prepare for a role as a council advisor. 

Staff and/or board chairpersons provide the Mayor and Council a list of Boards whose members have terms expiring, a list of prospective board members, a chart of racial and gender makeup for each board, a brief summary of board functions and staff recommendations for reappointments and/or new appointments. After careful review of board information the Mayor, with Council approval, appoints and reappoints members to the boards.

Apply for Board Membership

Download the Board/Commission Candidate Application Form

By Mail 

By Mail

City Secretary
P.O. Box 60
Abilene, TX 79604

In Person

In Person

City Secretary
555 Walnut Street
Room 203
Abilene, Texas 79601

By Phone

By Phone

City Secretary
(325) 676-6202

By Email

By Email



Post - Appointment Board Member Forms/Training

  • Oath of Office
    • Requires notarization
    • Issued/filed simultaneously with the Oath of Office
    • Original must be submitted to the Board Coordinator
  • Statement of Appointed Officer
    • Notarization not required
    • Issued/filed simultaneously with the Oath of Office
    • Original must be submitted to the Board Coordinator
  • Open Government Training*
    • Required to be taken within 90 days of appointment to any board or commission of the City of Abilene
    • Sessions include
      • (a) Open Meetings Act
      • (b) Public Information Act
    • Each session is about 1 hour long
    • Certificate must be submitted to the Board Coordinator
    • Ability to provide the Code to the Board Coordinator so they may print on your behalf

Board Information

Boards & Commissions Listing

  • Boards & Commissions Contact & Vacancies Report
  • All City Boards & Staff Contact are listed in the document above, as well as any vacancies on each board.
    • 9-1-1 Emergency Communications District Board of Managers
    • Abilene Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation
    • Abilene Housing Authority
    • Abilene-Taylor County Child Advocacy Center Advisory Board
    • Abilene-Taylor County Public Health Advisory Board
    • Abilene-Taylor County Venue District
    • Airport Development Board
    • Animal Services Advisory Board
    • Board of Adjustment
    • Board of Building Standards
    • Citizen's Advisory Board for People with Disabilities
    • Civil Service Commission
    • Development Corporation of Abilene, Inc.
    • Frontier Texas! Board of Directors
    • Keep Abilene Beautiful
    • Landmarks Commission
    • Library Advisory Board
    • Mayor's Downtown Task Force
    • Mechanical/Plumbing/Electrical & Swimming Pool Board of Appeals
    • Mental Health - Mental Retardation Board of Trustees
    • Office of Neighborhood Services Advisory Board
    • Parks & Recreation Board
    • Planning & Zoning Commission
    • Senior Citizens Board
    • Street Maintenance Advisory & Appeals Board
    • Visual Arts Jury
    • West Central Texas Municipal Water District
  • Bond Advisory Committee 07-10-2014

Please contact the City Secretary for any additional information:

Shawna Atkinson
City Secretary
(325) 676-6202


*You are leaving the City of Abilene pages. The City is not responsible for any content on linked websites. Visitors to externally linked sites are advised to use caution when using external sites.