Ricki V. Brown Librarian of the Year Award

About the Award

This award was established by the Friends of the Library to honor former City Librarian Ricki Brown, who headed the Abilene Public Library from 1998 to 2013 before her passing.


Recipients are nominated by the community and selected in recognition of outstanding leadership and accomplishment in library science representing public, academic, and school libraries in Abilene.

Award Perks

Award recipients are announced each November. Award recipients receive a $500 award and their name is added to a commemorative plaque at the Abilene Public Library.

List of Past Award Recipients

Teresa Ellis2014 | TERESA ELLIS
Theological Librarian
Hardin-Simmons University
Kristy Compton2015 | KRISTY COMPTON
AISD School Librarian
Cooper High School
Alyssa Crow2016 | ALYSSA CROW
Librarian II. Children's
Abilene Public Library
Denise Brunner2017 | DENISE BRUNNER
Elementary Librarian Supervisor
Abilene Independent School District
Eddy Smith2018 | EDDY SMITH
Librarian, Executive Director
Abilene Library Consortium
Tremain Jackson Getting Photo Taken with Librarian of the Year Plaque2019 | TREMAIN JACKSON
Librarian II, Multimedia
Abilene Public Library
Janis Test Receiving the Librarian of the Year Award with Past Recipients2020 | JANIS C. TEST
Librarian III, Information
Abilene Public Library
Heather Carter - Librarian of the Year 20212021 | HEATHER CARTER
Librarian I, Information
Abilene Public Library
Elizabeth Pruitt2022 | ELIZABETH PRUITT
Elementary Librarian Supervisor
Abilene Independent School District
Librarian of the Year Award2023 | AMANDA SASSER
Librarian I, Youth Services
Abilene Public Library