Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
The United States Constitution and the Texas Constitution guarantee all people, regardless of the following have the right to trial by an impartial jury:
You were selected at random from a list of Abilene residents. You do not have to be a registered voter to serve.
As a juror, you must be fair and impartial. Your actions and decisions must be free of any bias or prejudice. Your actions and decisions are the foundation of our judicial system.
Yes. The Texas Supreme Court has rules to assist you in your conduct as a Juror, which will be given to you by the presiding Judge.
The attorneys for either side of the defendant use the information on these forms during the jury selection process. This process saves time for prospective jurors and the attorneys. You may be assured that your personal information is kept confidential.
Jurors must be:
You may be excused from jury service if any one of the following applies:
If you fall into one of the above categories and you wish to be excused from jury service, you will need to complete and sign the bottom portion of your Jury Summons and mail or fax it promptly to the address shown.
The judge must grant the only other excuses from jury service. If you are in doubt or think you may not be qualified to serve on a jury for one of the above or any other reasons, please notify the Judge. If you will be unable to be present for jury service and you do not fall within one of the categories, you will be required to mail or fax your reason for not being present for jury service. The letter must include a telephone number where you can be notified of the judge's decision on normal business days between 8 am and 5 pm.
Jury service is normally for one day.
Yes, you will be paid $6 if you are selected to actually serve on the jury. The Abilene Teen Court solicits donations and you may, but are not obligated to, contribute your juror fee to this fund. For more information, please ask the bailiff or other court personnel.
Your employer is not required to pay you while on jury duty; however, the law prohibits employers from firing an employee serving as a Juror. An employee whose employment is terminated in violation of this section is entitled to return to the same employment that the employee held when summoned for jury service, if the employee; as soon as practicable after release from jury service, gives the employer actual notice that the employee intends to return.
A person who fails to comply with this summons is subject to a contempt action punishable by a fine of not less than $100 or no more than $1,000. Additionally, a person shall be fined not less than $10 or nor more than $100 if the person:
Any person charged with a criminal offense or any party to a civil case has a right to a jury trial. All parties are equal before the law and each is entitled to the same fair treatment.
There are two basic types of cases, criminal and civil (including family cases):
beyond a reasonable doubt.